Red Winter

Oh my. I didn’t have any expectations going into this book, because I hadn’t heard much about it. I found it on some lists of YA books with snow in them. Seriously. (Research for my current novel.)

I am so glad that this book came onto my radar. I think it started out a tiny bit slow—Emi’s character takes a while to build, and I didn’t empathize with her at first. She seemed a little stuck up, a little cold. I switched the audiobook to 1.4x speed pretty soon in, and then things went a little faster. I wasn’t expecting to get a quarter of the way through and *not want to stop listening*, though.

Let’s be real. I stayed up super late last night finishing this book (yes, I had work today, too).

When the action picks up, it really picks up. I just wanted to keep going! Basically as soon as Shiro enters the picture, that’s it for me. I’m lost in this story.

Marie manages to create what feels like a really good anime in the form of a YA novel with a cool female protagonist. Strong doesn’t really describe her well—it’s more like, “powerful.” For reasons that you’ll understand when you read the book. The settings are beautifully drawn, very engaging and visually stunning. The title is super clever, because fresh blood on fallen snow is an image you can’t shake. There’s plenty of suspense, both in the plot and in individual action sequences. There’s a definite ticking clock, especially for our protagonists.

By the time I finished this one, I was already looking up the next book in the trilogy. I think I’ll try Annette Marie’s other series, as well, because I am enjoying this one so much.

Fans of fantasy YA, fantasy anime shows, female YA protagonists, Japanese demon mythology, and fast-paced action will all love this book. It really blew me away, and I’ve already recommended it to several people just in the last 24 hours. Do yourself a favor and go read it. 🙂

“Do you promise?” *swoons*

Leave a Reply

