Etiquette & Espionage

I have to admit—I started this one as an audiobook, but had to jump to a print copy in order to stay motivated to finish it. I should have taken my librarian friend’s advice and listened to it on 1.5x speed. It was wearing on me, the length of time it was taking to get through relatively little action. I think the accents and more verbose speech patterns of the characters (germane to their time period and setting) might be contributing factors?

In any case, I got the print copy from our library, and blew through the rest of it in a single night. It was much more engaging as a page-turner than a listening practice.

I like Sophronia. She’s sharp and clever and quick, and doesn’t ask for responsibility but often finds herself taking it on because she thinks it’s the right thing to do. Often, she’s absolutely right. It’s fun reading a character set in such proper times who is actually “progressive” in that she takes charge of her own life and doesn’t always let society dictate what she thinks about herself.

I’m a little on the fence about how and why there are werewolves and vampires in this steampunk world, but they haven’t detracted from the story. They’re more of a curiosity, like a peculiar-looking bookend you want to examine up close. It makes me wonder if subsequent books in the series get into the lore of the wolves and vamps more than the first one does.

The cast of supporting characters are interesting and at times funny. I think I grew to like the story right alongside Sophronia growing to like Madame Geraldine’s finishing school.

Fans of a proper British setting (plus steampunk) and the speech patterns to match it, combined with a clever female protagonist supported in her hijinks by a disparate cast of intriguing bit players, would enjoy this immensely.

Leave a Reply

